I love to cook with wine. Sometimes I even put some in the food! :)

Hello, hello!

I don’t know about where you are but my Wednesday is presently filled with clouds, raindrops, wind, and just general ickiness.

I’d so much rather be at home snuggled up under a blanket with something a’cookin’ in the oven or crockpot and a nice glass of wine in my hand.

Because, it’s Wine Wednesday, after all!

rule 66

source

I’m doing this Wine Wednesday a little different though.

Don’t fret – I’ve got PLENTY of bottles of wine to share with you in the future!

Today, I want to talk about wine and food.

Or more specifically, wine IN food.

cook with wine

source

(pssst….have you ever clicked on my image source links? you might just find something interesting … like a recipe that uses WINE!)

Did you know that you can substituteΒ wine for the liquid in many of your meals?

Well, maybe not brownies. But, I haven’t tried it yet so……

Say, if something calls for chicken broth, you can use wine (white would be best) or a combination of the two.

Or, for example, if you’re making a homemade pasta sauce and it’s a little thick, you can add some red wine for depth and flavor and to thin it up a little.

Very Important Tip!

Please, please, please only cook with wine that you would drink.

Do not, under any circumstances, use anything that’s labeled “Cooking Wine.”

GAG!

Seriously, there’s nothing worse than ruining a recipe with a bottle of bad wine or Boone’s Farm or something like that.

Don’t do it!!!

I’m not saying you have to cook with your expensive wines but I wouldn’t recommend 2 Buck Chuck, either.

Blackstone Winery makes a variety of decent and inexpensive wines that would round out a recipe quite nicely.

Yellowtail Wines are also a good option, if you’re looking for inexpensive.

Want to give it a try but are a little nervous because you don’t want to screw it up?

Well, you should definitely read this article from Wine Enthusiast –Β Guide to Cooking with Red Wine & White Wine.

Now, on to some recipes!

First and foremost, I love Food and Wine Magazine for recipes, especially those that use wine in the recipe.

I mean, they’re pretty much the experts. πŸ™‚

With Fall officially here, many cooks are turning to those favorite “comfort foods” to warm bodies and fill tummies.

Like meatloaf.

Except, this ain’t your mama’s meatloaf.

Meatloaf with Red Wine Glaze

Or, how about beef stew? YUM!

Beef Stew in Red Wine Sauce

Do you love Coq au Vin?

(omigosh, me too!!! So delicious and worth the time and effort!!)

(um, for those who don’t know, that’s French for chicken in wine. #fancy)

Well, how about changing it up and using a white wine instead of the traditional red? Now that’s a dish that’ll both surprise and please your family/guests/tummy. πŸ™‚

Coq au Riesling

So, I saw this article the other day and shared it on my Facebook page: 27 Awesome Ways to Use Leftover Wine.

Wait, what?

left-over-wine

Who knew?!

Well, I also came across this blog post ‘100 Recipes Using Leftover Red Wine‘ so apparently, it’s a THING.

Which means, I’m going to have to try it.

Oh. My. This list has Merlot Cream Cheese Brownies on it.

soexcited

source

Talk to me: Do you cook with wine (as in, put it in the food) or do you just cook with wine (as in, drink it from your glass while attempting to get dinner finished before you fall over)? πŸ˜‰

Do you have any favorite recipes to share?

One thought on “I love to cook with wine. Sometimes I even put some in the food! :)

Leave a Reply

