Wine Wednesday – d’Arenberg 2010 d’Arry’s Original Shiraz Grenache

Hello!

Hip, hip, hooray, it’s Wine Wednesday!!

hip hip hooray

source

But, first things first.

You know what I strongly dislike hate? (hmmm….something tells me I should have done that the other way around but….nah, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.)

Rude people.

And people who take advantage.

Those people really, really bother me.

Oh, and I also have a strong dislike for people who drive around with their turn signals on. Seriously, turn the blinker off or change lanes already!!!

angry girl

Okay, but really. Back to the rude people. Rude even when there isn’t a need. People who call you, TELL you to do something, and then hang up on you before you even have the chance to ask for more information. That you actually need. So you don’t look like a bumbling fool.

I really, really, really, really don’t like those people.

home alone

source

Okay.

Moving on.

To Wine Wednesday.

Now, where did I put my corkscrew?

We went to the Fresh Market this past weekend and they normally have a decent wine selection.  🙂

So, when I saw this one, I jumped at it.

image

Now, I’ve had this before – a few times, actually – so I was more than happy to pay slightly over my $20 grocery store budget.

Besides, it’s the Fresh Market. Things there tend to cost a little more than the Wal-Mart market.

This is the first time I’ve blogged about it though.

d’Arenberg  is an Australian winery and quite honestly, they make some really excellent wine.

I love their Stump Jump wines and anything that comes out of McLaren Vale (wine region in South Australia) is stellar. If you see McLaren Vale on a bottle of Shiraz (Australian Syrah), Grenache, or Viognier, grab it! You won’t be disappointed!!

(I haven’t tried a Chardonnay or Cabernet Sauvignon from there so I can’t say specifically that they’re good but it’s pretty likely.)

Okay, in case you couldn’t tell, this is going to be a good wine review.

image

You know how I feel about blends and I absolutely love the earthy fruitiness of a Grenache. Pairing it with a spicy, fruity, deep Shiraz is almost too amazing a combination to even dream about!

I’m so glad they did!!

On the nose, I got spice, and plums, and a little tobacco, and some earth.

image

The first sip brings flavors of tart berry, mineral earth, some peppery spice, and a hint of coffee.

Shiraz wines (same as Syrahs) tend to be super fruit forward and jammy with awesome chewiness and bite – the Grenache added really mellows that fruitiness down and amplifies the peppery finish, making it delicious and interesting and complete from sip to swallow.

Seriously, why didn’t I buy a case?!?!

You could pair this with most anything except really light dishes – probably not so good with a shrimp scampi or something like that. But, if you’re in the mood for a good burger, some ribs, a steak, grilled chicken, or a stew, or even pizza – this would be an excellent choice!

Talk to me: Any particular wine regions you are fond of? Do you prefer Shiraz or Syrah?

– jennifer

2 thoughts on “Wine Wednesday – d’Arenberg 2010 d’Arry’s Original Shiraz Grenache

  1. Pingback: 23 Struggles Of Being The Tidiest Person In A House-Share | Sharing Interesting Stuff, Updates News & Free Tips

  2. Pingback: 23 Struggles Of Being The Tidiest Person In A House-Share - Game News

Leave a Reply

