My BQ plan and Healthy Fried Chicken

Let’s talk training plans! I love it when marathon (or any race, for that matter!) training starts and I can hang my training plan on my refrigerator and start marking off days as complete. I’ve used a variety of training plans and I’ve mashed some together and made my own. All have been very effective at getting me across the finish line. I came closest to my sub-4:00 goal in 2010 at the Richmond Marathon. That plan incorporated a lot of speedwork and I was in running distance of a track so I was able to do those sessions. I finished in 4:10:54. I believe I didn’t meet my goal because I was dehydrated. Pretty severely, actually. The car ride home was not fun. If you don’t believe me, ask Things 1 and 2. Yuck. Lesson learned!

I’ve recently snagged this book on my Kindle called “Run Less, Run Faster” and I think I’m in love. The idea behind it is running less (duh) but making your running workouts quality with well-defined paces to help you get faster and adding in both cross-training and strength training. I’m all for that! I was wondering how I was going to balance CrossFit and running AND shooting for a BQ. For Salt Lake City, I was only running 3 days anyway and doing CrossFit 3 days but my running days, except for Saturdays (long runs), were limited to a maximum of 6 miles, usually tempo runs, around my neighborhood. Don’t get me wrong – I love those kinds of runs but I know I need to really focus to improve my speed and endurance at a higher speed. And, since Carla is shooting for a BQ too and we’ve already agreed to meet up 2 mornings a week to do speed work, I can actually focus on real speedwork and not just tempo runs and fartleks around the ‘hood whenever I remember to do them. And yes, fartlek is a funny word.

So, I’m following the Boston 3:45 plan…

image

and it looks like this: Track Tuesdays, Tempo Run Thursdays, and Long Run Saturdays. I will CrossFit on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday and spin bike on Monday and Wednesday evenings in my living room. Hey, there’s nothing that says I can’t watch television while I’m spinning away! The plan, as dictated by the book, incorporates cross-training into it but doesn’t count CrossFit as cross-training. :\ While I’m not completely sure I agree with that because CrossFit can really work me out, I see where they’re coming from. They suggest biking, swimming, or rowing – basically, non-weight bearing activities – as cross-training to keep your heart rate and fitness up without fatigueing the muscles you use for running. So, I shall spin!

Healthy Fried Chicken!

My mom got this recipe out of the Reader’s Digest. She made it when I was home for my grandmother’s 93rd birthday. Um, hello, my grandma is the bomb-diggity, in case you were wondering. Anyway, this recipe is intriguing and, honestly, pretty doggone delicious! Who doesn’t like fried chicken? Well, okay, maybe you don’t. Fine. πŸ™‚ The problem with fried chicken is…well, it’s fried and that isn’t super healthy. This recipe makes chicken that tastes sn awful lot like fried but without all that artery-clogging fat. And, plates were cleaned! Super easy, delicious, and light. Make this chicken!

image

Healthy Fried Chicken
Serves 4

1 lb. boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1/2 cup hummus (no, I’m not kidding)
2 lemons, 1 sliced into rounds and 1 juiced (I forgot lemons) 😦
4 sprigs fresh rosemary or a tablespoon dried
1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar
Sea salt and ground black pepper

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Place the chicken into a shallow roasting pan and top with hummus (make sure it’s layered on quite thick, about 1/4 inch). Scatter lemon slices a nd rosemary over chicken. Drizzle with half the lemon juice and the balsamic vinegar.

2. Bake until hummus is golden brown and meat is juicy and tender (check with a knife to make sure it’s cooked all the way through), about 30 minutes. Top with remaining lemon juice and salt snd pepper to taste; serve.

3. Om nom nom!!

image

2 thoughts on “My BQ plan and Healthy Fried Chicken

  1. Pingback: The busiest week ever – workout recap | A Hungry Runner

Leave a Reply

