Every Minute on the Minute. Pulled Pork BBQ

Hello! It’s Wednesday! How’s everyone’s week going so far?

Wednesday

Crossfit this morning was tough. In case you forgot, EMOM stands for every minute on the minute.

image

So, basically, we had to do 3 push-ups, 5 air squats and then, for the rest of that minute, we did hang snatches. Here’s what those are:

We completed as many rounds as necessary to get to a total of 80 snatches.

tired workout

I had to scale down to 45#. The 55# was a little too much for me but I worked hard and finished in 15:47. That was a helluva workout! I sweat a TON when I’m working out and I was flinging sweat everywhere. Note to self: if you workout with me, keep your distance. πŸ™‚

UPDATE: I just got back from physical therapy and I GET TO TRY RUNNING TOMORROW!! I’m so excited I may pee my pants! Oh, was that TMI? Yeah, not sorry. πŸ™‚

Dinner!

So, who loves BBQ?

tumblr_m8r8dwitJW1rxpunqo1_400

And, when you can pretty much have barbecue waiting for you when you get home from work, well, that’s the BEST kind of barbecue that won’t cost you an arm and a leg! I found a great recipe for pulled pork a few years ago and have been making it ever since. I’ve made it for potlucks, for moving parties (hey, we’re military – those tend to happen frequently), for parties, and just because.

It is seriously so good! And, you can really customize it to your tastes. Usually, I make my own secret recipe BBQ sauce but, when I’m in a hurry, I grab a bottle of Stubb’s BBQ sauce and go from there. If you prefer honey BBQ sauce, grab that. Of course, you can feel free to edit the other ingredients to your tastes, too. I should note that the hot sauce does not add too much heat so, if you’re not a fan of spicy, you can still use it and be fine. It pretty much just adds depth and flavor. Use more if you want to breathe fire. πŸ™‚ And, leftovers are fabulous but don’t expect any if you make it for a party or something. Especially if I’m there. Om nom nom!

Question time!
1. What’s your favorite bbq dish?
2. Coleslaw – yay or nay?
3. What’s your favorite color? mine’s purple! πŸ™‚

image

Pulled Pork BBQ
Serves about 15, depending on how much pork you eat

One 3- to 4-pound boneless pork roast
1 cup water
1 (18 ounce) bottle of your favorite barbecue sauce (or make your own!)
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 1/2 tablespoons hot sauce
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
2 1/2 cups prepackaged cabbage and carrot coleslaw
1/3 cup light coleslaw dressing (such as Marzetti)
15 (2 ounce) hamburger buns

1. Trim fat from roast. (Feel free to season as you wish. I usually season liberally with salt and pepper or with whatever strikes my fancy. Of course, it’s not necessary.) Place roast and water in a 4-quart electric slow cooker. Cover with lid; cook on HIGH 7 hours or until meat is tender. (YOUR HOUSE WILL SMELL AMAZING!) Drain pork, discarding cooking liquid. Return pork to slow cooker, and shred with 2 forks. Seriously, it will fall apart.

2. Add barbecue sauce and next 4 ingredients to pork in slow cooker; stir well. Reduce heat to low-heat setting; cover and cook 1 hour. (I’ve cooked this for as little as 30 minutes and it’s been fine. The pork is done, you just need time for the flavors to come together.)

3. Combine coleslaw and dressing in a bowl; toss well. Serve barbecue on buns with coleslaw. (optional. We usually skip. Red onions and pickle slices would also be good. I wanted avocado but there weren’t any ripe ones at the store. Boo.)

image

Per serving (1 sandwich (bun + 1/3 cup bbq = 2 tbsp coleslaw):
Calories 331; Protein 22.2g; Fat 9.7g (saturated 2.8g); Carbohydrates 38.1g; Fiber 2.3g; Cholesterol 51mg; Sodium 835mg

Oh, and just because, here’s Ginny snuggling with me last night. She snuggles by putting claws into my shoulder. Ow.

image

– jennifer

Leave a Reply

